Skilled Migration Points Calculator

Calculate your points and processing priority instantly and for free using the SkillSelect points test. The Visa Guide Points Test provides an estimate of your points for the Skilled Independent (189), Skilled Sponsored (190) and Skilled Regional-Provisional (489) visas. Only DIAC and authorised bodies can assess your actual score.

Introduction of new points test skilled migration visas AS OF 1 July 2012

The six existing points test based skilled migration visa subclasses (175, 176, 475, 885, 886 and 487) will be consolidated into three new visa subclasses:

– Subclass 189 (skilled independent – permanent)
– Subclass 190 (skilled nominated – permanent)
– Subclass 489 (skilled regional – provisional).

From 1 July 2012, intending migrants, both in and outside Australia, may submit an expression of interest for subclass 189, 190 or 489 visas.

From 1 July 2012, points tested skilled migration visas granted outside Australia (175, 176 and 475) will be closed for all new applications. Points tested skilled migration visas granted in Australia (885, 886 and 487) will remain open for new applications until 1 January 2013.

Until 1 January 2013 intending skilled migrants in Australia may be able to submit an expression of interest, through SkillSelect, for one of the new points tested visas (subclasses 189, 190 and 489) and/or make an application outside of SkillSelect for an 885, 886 or 487 visa, provided they meet eligibility requirements.

Introduction of SkillSelect

SkillSelect is an online service that will be introduced on 1 July 2012 and will involve significant changes to the skilled visa application process. Intending migrants will first need to submit an expression of interest and then will need to be invited to apply for one of the new points tested
skilled migration visas. Further information about these changes is available.


Skilled migration points test requirements under SkillSelect

The three points-tested skilled migration visa subclasses (189, 190 and 489) will continue to require intending migrants pass a points test to be invited to apply for a visa. Factors assessed under the new points test will be similar to the current points test. The main difference is that the points will be based on the applicant’s attributes at the time of invitation rather than at the time of application lodgement or decision.

The pass mark is the minimum number of points required to be eligible for a points tested skilled migration visa and is subject to change in response to Australian labour market needs. The current pass mark can be found on the department’s website.

Under SkillSelect, the ability to meet the points test mark will not guarantee an invitation to apply.

Invitations will be issued periodically to the highest ranking expressions of interest subject to occupation ceilings.

An expression of interest is not an application for a visa. If you are invited to apply, you will have to demonstrate that the claims in your expression of interest are correct.